Posted by: chasker | August 13, 2007

My toddlers are on Windorphins

My 16 month old twins, Ruby and Lily, are on Windorphins. How do I know this? We have a bus stop just outside our apartment that has a big advertisement on it with these brightly colored little blobby animal thingies and the tagline “If you’re happy and you know it you’re probably on Windorphins.” Every time we go outside they go waddling down to the bus stop as fast as possible and point furiously at the windorphins, making funny grunting sounds, laughing, and generally whooping it up.
My wife, Tiffany, and I, were very intrigued by the advertisement, so we were compelled to look it up. Now, I am not sure if it weren’t for Ruby and Lily, whether we would ever have gone online and looked it up, but the fact is that we did. We read all about Windorphins, created our own windorphins, watched the ‘scientific evidence’ of windorphins. I have never seen a static poster advertisement that has caused me to go an do research on it, so that got me thinking that this campaign was very effective. I was made extremely curious, felt compelled to go online, and then once online spent at least 30 mins playing around on the site. Did I take the extra step and buy something on eBay? No, but I will forever associate windorphins with eBay, yet not once on the static poster does it mention eBay.
I am sure this is not the last time in my life that Ruby and Lily will be the catalyst for trying something out or researching it. eBay was very clever targeting this advert at my 16-month olds.

Technorati Tags:
,

Responses

  1. Here’s an interesting article on the trademarking (or lack of) of “Windorphins” by eBay. I would like to think somebody within eBay’s internet marketing group got a good talking to about being responsible for securing online properties/domains – especially for such a public campaign.

    http://www.fool.com/investing/general/2007/06/18/ebay-stole-my-windorphins.aspx


Leave a Reply

Categories